group of kumquats

Kumquats in our kitchen.

It’s been a while. The past couple of months have been tough for me (more on this later), but I’m hoping to be back big time starting today. I’m participating in Reverb 10, an exercise in reflection and manifestation. You should do it too, whether by blog or personal journal or twitter or in your head. I hope to blog most days this month. We’ll see how it goes.

The first Reverb prompt is, Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?

Beginnings. That’s my word for 2010. In January, P and I moved into our first home. It’s been our first full year married. The year was full of weddings, including those of two of my dearest friends. And we found out that we’re pregnant! (Pregnancy has not been easy so far. I’ll probably write more about this as the month goes on.)

The baby is due in June – smack dab in the middle of the year. For 2011, I choose enveloping as my word, as in enveloping this new being into our lives. I fear that my life will be taken over by the baby, by toys and drool and Cheerios. When I think of the baby, I don’t think of a precious being that I want to cherish and dedicate my life to. Not at all. And I feel bad and nervous about this. When I think of the baby, I think of an awesome little partner in adventure. I think of a fellow trooper to join Patrick, the dogs, and me in this crazy life. And I want that to be enough.

