caesar the lion poster

A poster? A book cover? I’m not sure what it is or who designed it. Sorry. It’s a nice-looking lion, though, isn’t it?

Today a man came into the adoption agency where I work and asked to use the phone. My boss let him, and after he was done talking, he leaned toward her and made some racist joke, presumably about whomever he had been speaking with. My boss looked him in the eye and calmly said, I don’t think that’s funny. I was impressed with her response – she was direct, but she didn’t make the situation a personal one. I also felt disappointed to know that I would have been unable to muster such a response. I would just get flustered. I wish I was quicker, calmer, and braver in situations like that. How do I get better at this? Practice?

You’ll notice some categories have appeared off to the left. You may also notice that they are not very useful yet, as very few posts have been categorized at this point. I’m working on it.

