This is a cute site – it’s all about childhood beliefs. Here are a couple of my favorites:

I was travelling with my Dad in the car one day when I saw him throw an apple core out the window. Thinking this was cool I threw my packet of chips out the window as well. Dad then yelled at me about how it was bad to litter, so when I told him I saw him do it, he simply said “it’s different, it’s biodegradeable”. For years afterwards when my sister and I weren’t allowed to stay up and watch TV with Mum and Dad I would tell her “It’s biodegradeable” as I thought that meant something adults were allowed to do but not kids.

When I was about 4 or 5, I had (and for some reason loved) a children’s book about Louis Pasteur, which had illustrations of rabid dogs with white foam all around their mouths. One day, a family friend served me some blueberry pancakes with blueberries for eyes and a whipped cream smile, and I FLIPPED OUT. I cried softly at the table and when everyone asked me what was wrong, I told them that I couldn’t eat my pancakes because they had rabies.

I also had that Louis Pasteur book. Do you have any good childhood beliefs to share?

