Yesterday, I found out that I did not get an internship that I interviewed for at Utne Reader. Disappointing. But onward and upward.

There was an article in the latest edition of the Utne Reader called Love Your Fat Self. In the last paragraph of the article, the author writes about the harmful judgments we pass on on other people every day:

It is a daily struggle not to listen to the voices – the furtive whispers, the outdated instincts – that try to slip under the radar. But it makes me feel more generous. It makes me feel less scrutinized myself. Sometimes I sit on a subway car and look at every woman purposefully and lovingly – as if she were my mother or my best friend. It is breathtaking how beautiful they all are when I see like this.

Yes, our attitude is our experience.

