Today is the first installation of Friend Friday, a day where someone else gets to take the wheel here. Please let me know if you’d like to be a guest writer – I’d love to have you.

I’d like to welcome my wonderful partner Patrick as my first guest. Patrick works in the Minneapolis College of Art and Design’s 3D Shop, where he helps students with wood, metal, and digital fabrication projects. Three words I’d use to describe Patrick would be intelligent, relaxed, and open. Here’s what he has to say:

Suppose you have a 5 percent chance of dying from a flu vaccine but a 10 percent chance of contracting and dying of the flu when an epidemic strikes. Do you take the flu shot? Surprisingly often, people do not.

This apparent irrationality is commonly attributed to “omission bias” – people often prefer inaction to action, even if inaction carries some greater risk.

Inaction is effortless, and less conducive to living. Here are a few “actions” that have been proven to prolong life: Going for walks. Making art. Seeing a therapist. Having pets and plants in the house. Stretching. Drinking lots of water. Making new friends. Spending time outdoors. Eating more fruits and vegetables. Managing stress.

Or, donating a kidney. Seriously…

A 1997 Swedish study, that followed 430 living donors, determined that the survival rate was 29% better in the donor group than in the general population.

On March 4th I am donating one of my superbly working kidneys to my Dad, a beautiful man who has endured too much pain and depression this past year and a half.

Inaction does not suit him.

beans

Photo by Sesselja Maria.

