I was thinking about this kiwi video by Dony Permedi while I ate my lunch in the park today. I saw it a while ago, and at the time thought it was clever and touching. Thinking about it today, though, I suddenly appreciated it on a whole new level. It brought tears to my eyes.

I find that a similar thing happens to me with adages that I’ve heard hundreds of times – for example, “It’s never too late to do the right thing.” I’ve always believed such sayings. Then something clicks in my head, and I suddenly believe them even more, to the point that it seems that I wasn’t even believing before. It makes me want to shake the first person I see and say, “Don’t you know IT’S NEVER TOO LATE TO DO THE RIGHT THING!” But they’d simply say, “Of course I know.”

Here’s what a real live kiwi looks like (photo from the National Geographic website):

kiwi bird

The name “kiwi” is from the Maori language, and it’s sound imitates the male kiwi’s mating call. Kiwis are the size of chickens, but their eggs are the same size as ostriches’ eggs! They also have whiskers.

